Innovation Boot Camps workshops and conference presentations are a lot of fun, but they really only scratch the surface of what is possible when it comes to innovative thinking. Many of the workshops I’ve mentioned in the blog served as team-building activities. Personally, I think the team-building objective is perfectly fine. After all, IBC is a simple way to work together and build confidence in each other (and it beats those “trust fall” activities any day). The problem comes when someone wants to take their IBC experience back into their workplace. How can you effectively translate the activities from an IBC workshop into your environment?

I’ve had this question a lot, so as I continue to explore and experiment with methods of innovation I’ve begun to lean more heavily on start up thinking. After all, ideas are everywhere – it’s making those ideas happen that is hard. Don’t get me wrong, I still believe innovation is a core activity for any organization (and one we desperately need more of in libraries), but if we’re going to turn good ideas into tangible products and services, we have to up the ante. If we operated like start ups what would Library Land look like? As some of you know, I’ve also started another project with exactly that aim called The Startup Library – you might want to check it out…

Of course, I’m still happy to do workshops that build teams through play and introduce the basic principles of innovation!

